Torrey Sharp and Faceout Studio

12491985_10153710279036293_5966171630074845836_o
Image ©FaceoutStudio. http://www.facebook.com/faceoutstudio

Torrey Sharp, a co-founder of the renowned graphic design studio, Faceout Studio, came to George Fox University to visit and give us a presentation on his studio’s work, his role in the studio, and to give students’ advice on how to be successful in the graphic design world. Faceout Studio, centered in Bend, Oregon, specializes in book design more than anything else, but also does brand design, video promotion, web designing, and packaging. The name of his studio, Faceout Studio, was named for the practice of putting out a book in a bookstore, face-out–or having the cover of the book displayed to the public in full view. He and his co-founder chose this name because they wanted to emphasize the idea that their graphic design work would make any potential client’s work stand out among the competition.

Out of all the presenters that visited our college, I found Sharp’s presentation to be especially memorable and interesting. His presentation style, the work he displayed on screen, and the countless practical advice he gave us, made for a very engaging presentation. He gave so many useful pieces of advice. During the presentation, I wrote down as much information as I could, while still adhering to the artistic style required of us for our sketchnotes.

11112

Images and design ©FaceoutStudio http://www.faceoutstudio.com/work

One particular piece of advice I found interesting was his four points of consideration: work, environment, culture, and finding an advocate. I also found his advice for “finding where you fit,” particularly useful. Because, as he explained, finding the thing or passion you are interested in will propel you to do the best work you can. As a graphic design student, I knew I wanted to do design work, but I didn’t really know where I wanted to focus my attention at. But as an avid hiker, trail advocate, and environmentalist, I am motivated to work with anything related to trails, nature, or the mountains. I realized that by focusing my work on that theme, I will be more motivated in my work and thus more marketable towards getting a career as a graphic designer in a trail, environmental, or hiking organization.

lancaster_makingof_1_o
Behind the scenes shot for one of their documentaries that they were involved in. ©FaceoutStudio / FaceoutFilms.com

 

He also advised us to “not put all our eggs in one basket.” By reaching out and focusing on more than one thing or place, you will have more career options to choose from–and thus find the best one fit for you.

Throughout his presentation, Sharp provided some of the best practical advice I have ever heard in such a relatively short and condensed period of time. His visit was invaluable for all the expertise, personality, advice, and experience he shared with us.

 

Faceout Studio website: www.faceoutstudio.com.

Faceout Studio’s InsideFaceout blog: http://insidefaceout.com

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Torrey Sharp and Faceout Studio

  1. To me the most incredible part of Faceout studio is seeing the revisions of design or different concepts that they come up with for each book and how subtle changes can make all the difference. I also really enjoyed how Torrey came at his presentation on how we can succeed as designers and how that relates to internships and his business.

    Like

  2. I like how Torrey didn’t just talk about his own work but some of the works of is interns. Which gives you an idea how this works in real life, he also gave some great points on getting a better chance at landing an internship, like his eggs and the basket.

    Like

Leave a comment